Heisman Trophy trustees and voters blew it again
College Football Share

Heisman Trophy trustees and voters blew it again

Herd voting results in 16 of past 25 Heisman winners from just seven schools

Photo: Navy quarterback Keenan Reynolds was a special talent worthy of a trip to New York.

Open letter to Heisman Trophy trustees James Corcoran and Brian D. Obergfell:

This letter is for both of you, but I hope you share it with fellow trustees.

Your 929 voters for the Heisman Trophy blew it. Again. Alabama running back Derrick Henry won based on a disturbing herd-voting fueled by ESPN highlights of a candidate playing for a highly ranked team. ... 

Click here for the rest of my Today's U story

Tom Shanahan

Tom Shanahan

Tom Shanahan is an award-winning sportswriter and the author of "Raye of Light". Tom spent the bulk of his career in San DIego writing for the San Diego Union-Tribune. He has covered NCAA Tournaments, Super Bowls, Rose Bowls, the NBA Finals and the World Series in a career that included writing for Voice of San Diego, the San Diego Hall of Champions and Chargers.com. He contributes to the Detroit Free Press, Raleigh News & Observer, MLB.com, Rivals.com and the National Football Foundation's Football Matters. He won multiple first-place awards from the San Diego Press Club and first place from the Copley News Service Ring of Truth Awards. The National Football Foundation/San Diego Chapter presented him its Distinguished American Award in 2003. USA Track and Field’s San Diego Chapter presented its President’s Award in 2000.

Raye of Light: Jimmy Raye, Duffy Daugherty, the integration of college football and the 1965-66 Michigan State Spartans. It explains Duffy Daugherty's pioneering role and debunks myths that steered recognition away from him to Bear Bryant.

By Tom Shanahan; Foreword by Tony Dungy; August Publications

David Maraniss, Pulitzer Prize winner and biographer: "History writes people out of the story. It's our job to write them back in."